Finished Piece (Project 1)

I built my project around the concept of multiple personality systems, which will sometimes occur to help someone cope with different situations.  I have such a system, and so I wanted to create a work of art to represent the different personalities, and how they are simultaneously different ‘people’ and yet how they combine to function as one person.

At first, I had wanted to create one drawing of each of them showing their interests and character traits, however that would not present them as one system so much as four completely separate people. That is when I thought of the idea to have it be four individual illustrations that combine to make one larger image, much like how the personalities work in the system.  Because each person has a color that I strongly relate with them, It was difficult to work out a color palette at first, since they are hardly colors that work together well, or with other colors for that matter.  That is why I decided that rather than having one color scheme that all four images follow, I would use a greyscale background and have each individual person be done in their own color.

Finally, for the composition and concept itself of having the four of them emerging from and being tangled in the brain, I drew from how each personality both comes from my mind, but is also trapped within it.  I placed each person in a way that I thought best fit their personality and outlook, in order to give a small glimpse into their individual characteristics.

Leave a comment